Some features are often ignored, maybe because we never tried to understand them. One such feature of Gmail is Archive. This archive button is displayed at the top of every opened email and also when you select an email from the inbox. So what’s the use of archive in Gmail? And where does email go if you archive it? Let’s take a closer look and understand this archive feature in Gmail.
Till now you may have never used this archive button but after reading this article, you might start using this amazingly useful feature.
Why Should you Use Archive in Gmail
Archive basically lets you to tidy up your inbox by moving messages from your inbox so that you don’t have to delete anything. This is like moving your messages to a safe place where they can be accessed later on. Of course using this feature doesn’t deletes your messages. It helps you to keep your inbox clean and free from unwanted messages.
Where To Access Archived Emails From
So you like the idea to make your inbox clean and clutter free and you archived a message. But now you must be wondering, where can I access my Archived emails from? When you archive an email, it’s moved from inbox to the “All Mail” label on the left sidebar of your Gmail page. All Mail is your one-stop destination to all of your mail’s that you’ve ever sent or received but not deleted.
You can also use the Search bar to search for emails that you’ve archived. You can enter email address, sender/recipient’s name, or keywords from the body of the message in the search bar.
When someone responds to the message that you have archived, the conversation containing that message will reappear in your inbox. So don’t worry, you will get to know the entire conversation and you won’t miss a single message.
How to Move an Archived Message Back to Inbox
- To move an archived message to inbox, click on “All Mail” from the left side of your Gmail. If you do not see this label, then click on the “More” drop-down menu at the bottom of your labels list.
- Select the message and then click on “Move to Inbox” button.
Those who have a habit of cleaning inbox daily or weekly will find this Archive feature very useful, as using it will tidy up the inbox, plus your messages will be stored at a safe place and won’t be deleted.