Wouldn’t it be great if there’s an undo button in Gmail, and we can just click on it and undo sending that email? Well, if you are searching for a similar feature then you’re in luck as Gmail now offers an undo button to un-send that message but you will need to enable it. Let’s learn how to ‘unsend’ a sent message in Gmail.
Sometimes after clicking on that “Send” button, we might think that we really shouldn’t have sent that email. We might regret it later, or perhaps it was a time of anger which was responsible for that email. But later on, we might regret sending that message. Well, unfortunately, once the email is sent, there’s nothing that can be done to recall it. But now thanks to Gmail’s Undo Send feature, you can undo sending that message.
Here’s how Gmail’s Undo Send feature works. Basically, it actually doesn’t sends message instantly, instead, it offers you sometime so that if you change your mind, you can prevent sending that message by clicking on “Undo.” But note that you have to be quick to halt that message from being sent. Let’s learn in detail.
How to Enable ‘Undo Send’ Feature in Gmail
- Login to your Gmail account on your computer
- From the upper right corner, click on the gear icon and then on Settings.
- On the Settings page, ensure that you are on the General tab.
- Find the setting for “Undo Send” and click on the checkbox next to “Enable Undo Send”.
- Next, click on the dropdown menu and select the ‘Send cancellation period.’ This is the time Gmail will give you before actually sending that message. Gmail will give you maximum of 30 seconds, after which, it will send the message.
- Once you have made the changes, scroll down and click on Save changes button.
With this being done, you have successfully enabled Undo send option in Gmail. Now, to test it out, compose a message and then click on the Send button. At the top, you will now be able to see a message that says “Your message has been sent. Undo. View Message.” From here, click on the “Undo” link to stop the message from being sent.
Clicking on Undo button means that Gmail will stop the message from being sent, and the recipient won’t receive this message. So go ahead, enable this feature so that if in case you change your mind after sending the message, this feature will come in handy.